Steps in the Right Direction

News update: one or both of the short stories I submitted to the Crypticon Seattle writing contest made it into the finals. They didn’t tell me if it was one or the other or both but I had to fill out a release form for both so it could be either/or. At this point, I’m just happy I made it. The award ceremony is Saturday of the convention and while my best friend and my husband aren’t going to be there because of work, I know that I’m going to have at least a few people to support me while I struggle not to faint in public again. Once again, I have no idea who I am up against and therefore strongly doubt I have a chance at winning but I do have a chance at getting published again. So that’s something.

One thing I did notice — not one person that made it in to the book last year is in the list this year besides myself. That means one of two possibilities I can think of – either they didn’t make it (which I doubt) or they’ve gone on to bigger and better things, like Rick & Melinda, and they didn’t enter (which is much more likely). Am I the only one from last year that spent the last 12 months not taking myself seriously as a writer? Did I just waste another year?

Probably.

Shit.

I have got to stop doing this. I have got to get my head out of my ass, get writing and start getting paid for this. I know I have the talent so the only thing that is stopping me is ME. And that’s just pathetic. I hate being pathetic.

So now I’m just annoyed at myself. Which I think is what I needed to get my ass in gear.

I’ve got my submissions organized and tracked. I’ve got my manuscripts organized, all of them… even the ones I’ve stopped working on. Now I just need to get a schedule fixed up and some writing time made for myself… and then I have to stick to it.

There is no reason I can’t do this.

About amairedinsmore

A. Maire is a writer living in Snohomish County, Washington with her husband, whom she has shared her life with since she was 19, their three children and one very spoiled Husky-Doberman mix. She was published in the Crypticon De-Composition 2011 Anthology with the short story 'Awakening' and in her free time enjoys planning parties for the group Biohazard, watching football, camping and reading.
This entry was posted in future prospects... good, self confidence. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

