Lessons still to be learned

Crypticon Seattle De-Compositions 2012

Crypticon Seattle De-Compositons 2012

First, the anthology is available to purchase NOW from several places, though the best price you’ll get is probably straight from the publisher Blysster Press. More links are available on the ‘Books’ page.

Now… back to business as usual.

So last week I managed to write over 7,000 words and get pretty far on the manuscript… which I’m incredibly proud of. However, I need to find a way to balance my real job, writing and managing my household because if I don’t… things could get out of hand rather quickly.

I’m going to do some experimenting with scheduling myself some time for ‘household chores’ after work and before writing, which also gives me some much needed time off of the computer. I have a feeling, however, that it’s just going to come down to giving into the writing bug whenever it bites me (regardless of sleep or cleaning, or whatever I might be trying to do at the time… with the exception of my real job) and then try and get all the mundane stuff done while I’m blocked or thinking…. rather than just staring at the damn cursor.

It’s astounding to me that this is such a careful balancing act – but I don’t want to burn myself out nor ignore my other responsibilities… If I’m in this for the long haul, I’ve got to figure it out. It’s not like I’m about to retire financially, right? I wish. The need for a ‘day job’ is very much real and will continue to be for a long time. I can’t decide if I’m grateful or annoyed that the work makes my creativity shrivel up like a raisin in the sun — I think it’s a combination of the two.

What is your plan or balancing the requirement of being an adult and the creative monkeys that scream to be let out? Any secrets you’d like to share or insight you think will be helpful?

About amairedinsmore

A. Maire is a writer living in Snohomish County, Washington with her husband, whom she has shared her life with since she was 19, their three children and one very spoiled Husky-Doberman mix. She was published in the Crypticon De-Composition 2011 Anthology with the short story 'Awakening' and in her free time enjoys planning parties for the group Biohazard, watching football, camping and reading.
Image | This entry was posted in Novel writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

