Future Planning

I got the manuscript template from my publisher this week. Getting my work transferred into it makes it feel somehow more real – it’s not just going to be a manuscript for a novel that I’m going to throw out into the world and hope gets selected… this is already accepted. My to-do list starts with finishing the book and then moves into the editing stages before it is going to be ready for publication. I’m hoping I’ll be done with step 1 (writing) by the end of the year. Step 2 will take several months and then it’s off to the races, right? Sit back and wait for the money to roll in? 

Not so much.

The work doesn’t end when the book is in print. In fact, that’s where a lot of the hard work starts – promotions and marketing, getting your name out there and your book sold. And if I want to do this right, I’m going to need to have a plan in place, a plan that starts now even before I’m done writing it. 

Why is that, you ask? Because, dear reader, my publishing house is not your usual run-of-the-mill book publisher. I’ll be in charge of my own marketing, my own promotions, scheduling my own book tour (based on my budget and calendar), and whether my book sells or not rests solely on my shoulders – I will have no one else to blame. 

So while I get the benefit of editors and proofreaders and typesetting and having my book published under a house, I also have a lot (if not most) of the responsibility of a self-pubbed author. I like to look at it as the best of both worlds, I am in control [I wouldn’t be with a traditional publisher] and I have a team to support me and educate me along my journey [I wouldn’t if I were self publishing]. 

Seriously, what is better than that?

Here is the start of my Master List of DOOM – what I’m going to need and when approximately – so that I can start getting my brain organized. The last thing I want is to not have prepared for the end and be scrambling to catch up and get my name out there. 

The list includes:
– Marketing Plan
– Press Kit
– Vanity Photos
– Book Tour Plan (what I can afford for travel, dates … don’t forget the cons I already attend each year)
– Cover Art (found the artist I want to work with, her stuff is gorgeous and she did one of our other authors)
– Promotional Plan
– Reviews (pre-release)

… and such. It’s not a complete list. Luckily I think my need for control works well with my non-traditional publishing house and my OCD will make this process less of a headache than it seems at the moment. I actually feel a lot better just having written that all down. 

Planning for the end result makes for more success, right?

Yeah, sure… we’ll go with that. 

About amairedinsmore

A. Maire is a writer living in Snohomish County, Washington with her husband, whom she has shared her life with since she was 19, their three children and one very spoiled Husky-Doberman mix. She was published in the Crypticon De-Composition 2011 Anthology with the short story 'Awakening' and in her free time enjoys planning parties for the group Biohazard, watching football, camping and reading.
This entry was posted in Novel writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Future Planning

  1. We love how proactive you are in shaping your career! Your to-do lists, your plans, your dedication to getting things done on your schedule, in your way. . . this is an excellent start to a very successful career. All of this on top of your creativity, your strong writer’s voice, your story-telling talent. . . A. Maire Dinsmore is on the scene, folks. Watch for BIG THINGS coming soon!

    As the Editor-in-Chief of Blysster Press, I do need to note something here so folks aren’t confused. We DO offer promotional stuff, plan events, help with marketing, etc. but we believe authors should be able to choose which aspects they take control of and which things they allow us to help with. We are here to hold hands, teach, answer questions, and guide when needed. But we’re also here to stand back and cheer our authors on when they choose to take on more responsibilities themselves.

    We want to see each of our authors succeed, but ‘success’ comes in many forms, and it means something different to every person. I’ve always told my children: “Do not measure your own success by the ruler in someone else’s hand.” And that same bit of wisdom gets passed on to each of our authors, too.

    You WILL succeed, A. Maire Dinsmore. We KNOW that you will because you have the drive to do so and the talent to share. And we feel blessed to have you as part of the Blysster Press family!

  2. lightningpen says:

    Hi, I hope you sell a million books! You’re literally doing all the things I would love to be doing myself! It’s s bit daunting when you’re self pub like I am, but I just keep reminding myself to work hard so I can work harder! I would like to thank you for the follow! I hope your book’s good, because I’m going to buy it! Have a great day of writing!

  3. Thanks for the great comments! I am plugging away and doing everything that I can and trying hard not to overwhelm myself with too much … I still need to get the writing part done!

    • It can be tough to keep your focus when you know there is so much left to do. The writing is the FUN part though, so do keep your eyeballs on that and enjoy the ride =D I’m here to help should you find yourself stuck!

Leave a Reply

