The Ultimate Balancing Act

Anyone who knows me knows I have a very busy and hectic life – I am not only married with two kids and have a full time day job that pays the bills and a household to maintain but I also have a secondary life that demands a lot of my attention as well. I am head of a party group that does events and conventions here in the Northwest (this takes up a surprising amount of time and energy), I have a second relationship that is still in that brand spanking & super shiny new phase (o.O is all I have to say on that subject for now), I have a super busy social life with activities and parties nearly every weekend (no I’m not exaggerating) and to top this all off, I’ve now increased my writing from occasional hobby and fanciful dream to a managing responsibility – which by no means is a BAD thing.

So I am posting today about balancing out everything you want and need in life with your writing – I need to work a day job (for now) and I need to clean the house and cook dinner every night. I want to keep seeing my friends and having date nights and alone time with the boys. But I need to schedule my writing in there somewhere as well.

What do I give up? Sleep? I get little of that as it is. I have tried writing while I work and to say that is impossible would be putting it lightly. Try infuriating, creativity-killing or just plain frustrating.

So I guess I’ve got to bite the bullet and give up some of that social time. I can’t think of anything else I can cut out without getting in trouble in one way or another.

Any advice from you, who might be reading this blog post? Some way you’ve figured out on how to knock out a thousand words while washing dishes with your feet?

About amairedinsmore

A. Maire is a writer living in Snohomish County, Washington with her husband, whom she has shared her life with since she was 19, their three children and one very spoiled Husky-Doberman mix. She was published in the Crypticon De-Composition 2011 Anthology with the short story 'Awakening' and in her free time enjoys planning parties for the group Biohazard, watching football, camping and reading.
This entry was posted in Novel writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

