Changes and Progress

Recently I was laid off from my ‘real job’ — the day job that provided the bill-paying money. While having all this extra time to keep my house clean and my to do list nice and accomplished, I had hoped to find myself with a lot more writing time than I have had. My own fault, of course, because I still have an incredibly active social life and with Christmas less than a week away my usually hectic life has been crazier than usual.

So what does this all mean? Add this with the fact that I got not a lot of writing done in the month of November (I shake my fist at you, NaNoWriMo!) and I am no where near where I wanted to be at this point in December. I wanted to be finished with the first draft and moving on to the editing stage by the first of the year. Yeah.. that’s so not happening. I’ll be lucky if I’ll be there by the time I hit Rustycon.

BUT … I do have the rest of the novel plotted out now, at least. I didn’t have that a week or so ago. Not entirely plotted out but a rough outline of what’s happening to give me something to work with. I find this helps me be more creative than just going with it. I’m more of a ‘plotter’ than a ‘pantser’, apparently.

AND … I now have a spiffy new-to-me laptop that I can use to write whenever and wherever I want. I am not required to stay at the house and be stuck in my room. If I want to be in the living room, I can be. Hell, I’m not working… If I wanted to go to the Starbucks, I can do that too! Hopefully this will help me in the creative process.

So now it’s just time to put all my self doubts and excuses aside and get to work.

This post will also be posted on the blog on my publisher’s social site, check it out!

About amairedinsmore

A. Maire is a writer living in Snohomish County, Washington with her husband, whom she has shared her life with since she was 19, their three children and one very spoiled Husky-Doberman mix. She was published in the Crypticon De-Composition 2011 Anthology with the short story 'Awakening' and in her free time enjoys planning parties for the group Biohazard, watching football, camping and reading.
This entry was posted in Novel writing, Time management, writing inspration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

