Temporary Insanity? Misguided Naivety? Or a Stroke of Freaking Genius?

It has been no secret that I’ve struggled the last few months. I’ve made quite a dent on the work I have before me and then hit a wall – just unable to continue or find the faith I need in myself. I struggled with this wall for over a month, attempting to work myself out of the slump and push past it. I talked what was bothering me out with those whose opinions I trust and respect, I tried to just get through it.

But after a while I realized that the problem was bigger than something I could just work around. There was something telling me that things needed to be changed. So I took a hard look at what I had and in a moment of pure honesty, I realized I wasn’t happy with it. Now, before those of you who know me jump to the “she’s falling into old habits” vein of thought, this time I was able to point out specific problems AND how I could solve them. Way different than simply deciding it’s crap and throwing it out.
So I’m changing things: the POV (which is a bitch by the way) and adding in a level to the main character that adds depth to the story, along with adjusting the characters a little. It’s been a week and I’m already feeling tons better about the project as a whole.
But I can’t help but wonder … am I shooting myself in the foot? I can’t be the only writer that’s done something similar, right?

I guess we’ll find out.

Also! For November, in honor of NaNoWriMo, we’ll be doing our own version … I don’t want to follow the actual rules and start a whole new project — that would murder my creativity. But it’s a great way to motivate yourself. So I’ll be posting progress and goals throughout the month. ^_^

I CAN DO THIS!

About amairedinsmore

A. Maire is a writer living in Snohomish County, Washington with her husband, whom she has shared her life with since she was 19, their three children and one very spoiled Husky-Doberman mix. She was published in the Crypticon De-Composition 2011 Anthology with the short story 'Awakening' and in her free time enjoys planning parties for the group Biohazard, watching football, camping and reading.
This entry was posted in Novel writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment